Julian Lennon’s “Lucy” and lupus

Standard

Julian Lennon's "Lucy in the sky with diamonds"

Julian Lennon and Lucy Vodden were childhood friends.  Contrary to the myth that John Lennon’s song, Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds, was all about drugs and LSD, it was actually based on a watercolor painting by his young son.  Julian had given the painting to his father, and told him it was a picture of his friend Lucy, who was in the sky with diamonds.

On December 15, Julian Lennon will release a single inspired by Lucy Vodden, his childhood friend, who recently passed away after a long battle with lupus.  He had reconnected with her about two years ago and this song pays tribute to her life and their friendship.  Proceeds from purchases of the single entitled “Lucy” will be available at iTunes from December 15 to January 1, and equally shared by the St. Thomas’ Lupus Trust and the Lupus Foundation of America.

Julian was 4 years old when he made the now famous picture for his father.  He recently remarked that Lucy will “always be a diamond in my sky.”  Lucy always said that the least important thing about her was the connection to the Beatles song but never missed the opportunity to use it if she thought could gain publicity for this fantastic charity which supported her.

Well done, Julian.  Thank you for your artistry, your insight and your generosity.

3 responses »

  1. I think its great that Julian is doing this. I was diagnosed with SLE and SCLE on Sept 12, 2001, and its only been down hill from there. I was disabled by 2005 when Lupus had caused several other complications that made it to where I am ‘unstable’ on my feet. I have periphial neuropathy that causes me to sometimes loose all feelings from waist down and in my right arm. In the 8 years I have had this horrible disease, my whole life has changed, because they can not get it stablized. I would not wish this disease on my worst enemy! I hope this song and all will open the public’s eye about this disabling and even terminal illness! We needed someone like Julian to speak up for this disease! Thank you! Maybe they will now find better treatments and even a cure for it!

  2. Im so grateful to Julian for giving his voice to Lupus. I was just recently diagnosed with SLE after searching for over 30 years from one doctor to another for answers on what was going on with me. Like it states, Lupus is the disease with 1,000 faces and it is quite common for your care givers to think you might be depressed or even off your rocker. However, finally I recieved the news, not good news but news with a sense of relief that Im not crazy. Julian, with his voice will bring Lupus to the forefront and maybe a cure can be found and I might start to feel better.

Leave a comment