You Better Not Cry

Standard

Like the song says, ” … you better not cry.”  In a perfect world, I would take my own advise.  Earlier this month I wrote about all sorts of great ways to stay sane during the holiday season.  I also said that there was no such thing as a perfect Christmas, a perfect family … blah, blah, blah.

And it makes sense.  On paper.

So, of course I was caught off guard when I had my Annual Christmas Meltdown the other day.  And it was a beauty.

Drama. Tears. Angst. Unrequited crap.

My Annual Christmas Meltdown

How does an otherwise relatively normal person lose their mind, freak out over all things related to the holidays and have the expectations of a four-year-old during the Christmas season?

You tell me.

At least this tantrum lasted a short time.  And I’m so over it now.

My inner four-year-old is still there, but I gave her some chocolate so hopefully she’ll shut up and behave.

Eating chocolate (in moderation) will take your mind off just about anything that is unpleasant or frustrating about the Christmas season.  Plus it’s a lot less expensive than therapy or SSRI’s.

6 responses »

  1. There seem to be Christmas lovers, who find joy in all the trappings of the season, and the Christmas dreaders, where the trappings of the season are just a reminder that we can’t measure up to the “standard.” I don’t know how to become the first one, although it would be nice to get back some of that excitement and good cheer that kids have. A “Christmas cheer” virus would come in handy about now.

    Amen sistah! I’m in favor of changing the “standard.” 🙂

  2. I’ve been using chocolate for a long, long time for pain and suffering. I actually told an ER doctor once that I use candy for my back pain and we all cracked up. I’m glad you treated yourself, and you are doing ok this “holiday” season. Christmas is so darn stressful, I feel lost with the cards, the gifts, the drama of who’s going where, and now deciding if we can tolerate three bipolars and one Asperger kid at the same dinner table. I really wish I could just order pizza and wear pjs all day rather than cook for eight.

    For the record, hubby and I have eaten three entire bags of Christmas dark chocolate that I’ve had to replace once. We almost broke into my stash again tonight, lol!

    Dark chocolate is packed with antioxidants. It’s almost a health food! 🙂

  3. Christmas can be so stressful! My only problem with chocolate is the guilt I feel after eating it!

    Don’t feel guilty … it’s medicine. At least that’s what Mary Poppins would say 🙂

  4. Oh yes sister – “we need a little chocolate, right this very moment,……” fa la la la la, la la la la la!

    Truffles from Bissinger’s should do the trick! 🙂

  5. Oh my. I’m so sorry that you had a meltdown but you know, with all the stress that comes along with the season, it is totally understandable. None of us is perfect so add female hormones, holiday stress, and autoimmune disease to the mix and it really should about be expected, don’t you think?! 😉 I do like your chocolate remedy and may have to see if I can get the same prescription as you! Seriously, I do hope the rest of your holiday season is wonderful and goes off without a hitch. Do whatever you have to in order to ENJOY it. Love and hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

