Finding The Sweet Spot

Standard

It’s that moment when you realize the bowling ball is in the pocket.  It happens when you connect PERFECTLY with the tennis racket, baseball bat, or golf club because you can feel and hear it.  And if you’re a cat, like my Charlie (pictured above), the ultimate sweet spot is purring on a cozy blanket, facing the sunshine, and taking a 3-6 hour nap.  We all look for the sweet spot, wherever it may be.

Today I noticed that life has been rolling along smoothly for almost an entire week.  Having made that assertion,  no doubt I’m pushing my luck for a fun weekend, but what the heck.  I made plans anyway! In addition to keeping up the regular 9-5 workpace, I attended a fabulous black-tie wedding and reception on Saturday (It’s fun to get dressed up now and then!) AND a baby shower on Sunday (My friend Kathy and I went a little overboard at Babies R Us.  Everything was soooo cute!).  I went to a music rehearsal on Monday evening.  I bought groceries, put them away, cleaned the kitchen, took out the trash, and washed three loads of laundry.  No joint pain.  No steroid hot flashes!  I remembered to go to a long-overdue therapy appointment and left without using even one Kleenex!  Yeah baby …  I found The Lupus-Free Sweet Spot.

I like to celebrate the little triumphs in life.  I’m not planning to surf the perfect wave in Maui, or land a back flip on the balance beam.  I don’t have to sing Schubert’s Ave Maria and gracefully slide over the high notes.  I have faith.  Right now, it’s enough to have clear skin and walk without tripping.  That’s sweet enough for me!

10 responses »

  1. I can personally attest for Charlie being a “very mellow fellow.”

    There is not much that riles Charlie unless you are sitting on the one SPOT he prefers….and the one blanket he prefers. At those times you might get a very weak “meow.” You know you have been told! He’s a sweet pie.

    Then there is Tigger.

    Tigger is sweet too. He’s just young. And maybe has ADD … look there’s a moth!!! 🙂

  2. Ahhh…”The Lupus-Free Sweet Spot”… sounds good, my new friend.
    I was prematurely diagnosed with lupus before they correctly found out about my Duhring’s Disease. It, too, is an autoimmune disease but I have been symptom free for over 5 years after suffering with it for over 27 years!
    You have my sympathy as well as my respect for dealing with it with grace and dignity.
    Cute kitty!!

  3. Hi Sue! It looks like a lot of autoimmune diseases have similarities. There are a bunch of autoimmune diseases in my family as well as thyroid issues. Do you belong to any online support groups? We should talk through email or something.

  4. How you doing?

    Hey sistah! I’m doing pretty well. At the moment, how YOU’RE doing is more important to me. Thanks for stopping by to say hi 🙂

  5. You GO girl! When I’m feeling great and have energy like that, I do it all, just like you. People tell me “don’t overdo it, you’ll exhaust yourself!” Well, excuse me, but I choose to live MY way…which means really LIVING when I can 🙂

  6. Joy doesn’t usually come up and introduce itself and is illusive when you go looking for it. It is usually more subtle than that, so it’s important to recognize it when it comes along. Yes, even when it appears in the mundane.

  7. Boy, this guy is a handsome fella!

    Can I ask you how you were diagnosed? I swear I think I have Lupus, but they missed it. I have so many rashes going on right now its crazy. I you have time to email me I’d love to hear your story. I only know one person with it, and she thinks I have it, too, but she presented with the typical butterfly rash, which I don’t have.

    Yes, he is handsome. I have no idea how he got those “attractive and athletic” genes, but he’s a great guy.

    I’ll email you my story soon. In short, I never have had the typical butterfly rash. My rash started out like little circles with a clear center on my back and shoulders. The doctors thought it was ringworm! When it didn’t clear up with topical medication, my dermatologist did a biopsy and that’s where the initial diagnosis came. Then I had a bunch of abnormal results from bloodwork. I met about 9 of the 11 criteria needed for a systemic lupus diagnosis.

    It’s very common for people with lupus to be misdiagnosed for many years, mostly because the disease presents very differently for everybody. If you think you need additional testing, I’d recommend you see a rheumatologist or immunologist for their opinion. 🙂

Leave a comment