The Little Big Things

Standard

As a good friend told me this evening, I manage tough situations by “visiting” them from time to time; I don’t stick around for long stretches of despair.  I never thought of it that way, but she’s right.  I don’t like to wallow.

Life’s been a little harder than usual lately.  My heart is tethered to people I love but can’t seem to help.  I’m frustrated about personal situations  I cannot seem to change.  And of course there’s health-related challenges.  Lupus crap is always just below the surface of everything, waiting to get worse.

But today I’m giving thanks for the little things in life.

Sometimes the little big things are enough to keep me going.

Such as …….

A perfect day at the beach

A perfect day at the beach

*   Fresh 600-count sheets on my bed.

*   New socks.

*   YouTube crazy cat videos.

*   Silly phone messages from my son.

*   Tickets to see James Taylor next month.

*   Taking stuff to the recycling center.

*   Reading a great book.

*   Somebody else cooking dinner.

*   A new shower head that feels like a spa experience.

*   Putting all the groceries away, the laundry folded, and a clean house.

*   Getting a hug from a favorite three-year-old, who just said “I love you.”

*   A new bar of shea butter soap.

*   Eight hours of sleep.

spring poppies

spring poppies

What are the little big things in your life?

6 responses »

  1. Hello,

    I hope everything works out for you. I know what it’s like to have problems that are too big to deal with. But life goes on and things will get better. I think it’s a great idea to focus on little bits of happiness that add up.

    Here’s my happy list:

    My family – always had them and they’ve never let me down
    chocolate – I just thought today that I was happy to be born in a time where it was readily available and not only for Aztecs 🙂
    music
    scented candles
    clean house
    perfume
    flowers
    warm weather
    the sky
    good books that make me laugh
    hugs
    long conversations with a friend
    dancing
    there’s a lot more……

    Well, keep the happiness faiith.
    Good luck.

  2. thanks for putting a few things in perspective for me. it has been hard for me and my family lately and always look for a little hope, thanks for providing that today!

    Gina

  3. What a nice post and a great list. My son is a heroin/crack addict. He has been on some kind of drug since he was 15. He’s 27 now. I haven’t seen him in 6 months. In that time I know he slipped a few times. I also finally know I can’t help him. But it is so hard to watch his pain. Right now he is headed up here from Florida. I haven’t seen him in 6 months. I can’t wait to see him but drama walks in his wake. My daughter probably won’t let him come to the house. I don’t blame her. He’s clean now and headed towards the job of a lifetime but I am so afraid he will get fired. But I can do nothing. So I will make a list of things to be happy about and I know there are a lot especially that little bundle of joy in my daughter’s tummy. Thanks!!

  4. It’s not always easy to remain positive but keeping a list like that constantly running in your head certainly helps. I like the idea of only visiting the the tough situations – what a great philosophy. Anyway, thanks for sharing your happy list – I love a lot of those things myself and I totally lust over your sheets! The higher thread counts are just spectacular. I do hope life does ease up a bit for you. Hugs to you!

  5. Being a sheet snob is a good thing. Remember that you spend many hours on those sheets just like many hours in your shoes. And tickets to James Taylor make Mothers Day even better!!

Leave a Reply

