Just Hook Me Up

Standard
Ain't it a beauty?

Ain't it a beauty?

Ahhh … the All-Knowing US Health Insurance Industry.  The bridge troll of health care. The billion dollar entity that we pay for health insurance coverage.   Yes sir, they’ll gladly accept our premium checks just in time to turn around and say “Sorry, we won’t pay for that particular treatment, surgery, procedure or medication.”

Bless their hearts.

Last week, I checked in with my lupus doctor.  He wants to continue the immunoglobulin infusions that I started in August.  The infusions are working and my autoantibodies are binding to the immunoglobulin instead of my connective tissues … kinda like a bait and switch technique.

But usually there’s always a catch, and this one has to do with my insurance coverage.  Apparently the insurance carrier won’t cover this treatment.  They will, however, cover treatment for plasmapheresis, or plasma exchange.  I’m gonna get myself hooked up to what looks kind of like a dialysis machine that will remove my my not-so-great plasma and replace it with filtered healthy plasma.  I get to go to the hospital for this and unfortunately won’t be able to stroll around with an IV poll.  I also get to do this about 3-4 times over the next month or so.  For this, I’m forced to lay in a bed for 6 hours.  And of course, this procedure has more risks of complications.  This time, I get to have a needle in my arm AND my leg.

Gives new meaning to the phrase “I’d give my arm and a leg for a ___________.”

At the moment, I think I’d like to finish that sentence with “a stiff drink.”

What would YOU give an arm and a leg for?

12 responses »

  1. Cure autoimmune diseases!

    That treatment doesn’t sound like a lot of fun at all. As a matter of fact it sounds a lot like the chemotherapy I endured. But if it is going to help you feel better than it is well worth it. I hope that the good will outweigh the bad. All treatments seem to have so many risks and complications. That machine is pretty impressive looking yet surprisingly basic looking considering what it actually does. Please keep us posted on what is next for you. I’m keeping you in my thoughts and prayers always.

    Thanks Teeni … yeah, sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. I try not to think about it too much or else I’ll get nutzoid!

  2. Hi, I was diagnosed with Discoid lupus erythematosus on my birthday week 2007. Discoid affects the skin and I pray to God I don’t go systemic. I found you blog through Teeni site and I am glad I did.

    I will be here reading you blog’s past post to get caught up and I hope you don’t mind if I comment every now and then.

    Take care and God Bless!

    🙂

    Thanks for stopping by Debo! Please visit often and throw your 2 cents in any time you want 🙂

  3. Just wondering if the people who make the decisions have any sort of, oh I don’t know, say medical training? I’m thinking no.

    I’m convinced that sometimes, the people making these decisions are just your everyday schmuck looking at diagnosis codes on a long list. And if the code ain’t on the list, the patient is out of luck!

  4. …the Presidency of the Health Insurance Company, of course.

    If you couldn’t get them to start covering you, at least you’d make enough money to pay for it yourself.

    Personally, occasionally, I’d give my arm and leg for a house to call my own.

    Of course! I should have thought of that! I have no doubt you’ll get that house … and keep your limbs in the process 🙂

  5. Whoa. Now see that – blogging is awesome. I have been “blogging” with Debo and all this time I didn’t know she had discoid lupus – my sister has the same so I will have to tell her about that.

    Wow … small world! Send a hug to your sister from me 🙂

  6. I’ve been fighting insurance stuff for months now too! Not so fun! Just one more added stress for a disease that is to be treated with as little stress as possible….yeah right!

    Stress … the six letter word that should be a four letter word!! 🙂 Hang in there!

  7. Bless their hearts indeed…i never knew about immunoglobulin infusions…i’m surprised my doc never mentioned them to me…i’m going to research it and see what he has to say….Ths LR

    Since I’ve been a non-responder to many pharmaceuticals, IVIG, plasmapheresis, bone marrow transplant, and stem cells are on the short list of options.

  8. Hi, thanks for stopping to say hi over at my blog!

    I worked at a pharmacy and we had a lady there that had Lupus. She always had mounds of meds for it. {hug}

    Will def. be back!

  9. once i was so frustrated with this whole lupus mess i asked my GP for a full body transplant.
    sometimes i just like to check if the doc has a sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

